A new mark of clinical excellence has been established, celebrating the Specsavers stores delivering the highest level of optometric care as measured through detailed analysis of patient outcome data – the Doug Perkins Medal.

The Doug Perkins Medal was introduced on 8 September 2018 during the Welcome Dinner for the seventh Specsavers Clinical Conference (SCC). The winners and finalists for the new award were determined based on their exceptional patient outcomes as achieved through a consistent approach to delivering quality eye care, a strong focus on education and training, and collaborative engagement with medicine. Positive patient feedback and a commitment to accessible eye health were also part of the judging criteria.

A nation-wide analysis of data collected through the Specsavers Professional Benchmark Initiative – which aggregates and tracks patient outcome data across the Aus / NZ store network – was employed to determine a shortlist of the stores delivering consistently high standards of patient care across all key aspects of clinical practice. This information was then combined with data from Specsavers’ patient feedback platform, as well as outcome data from the Oculo electronic referral system.

The Doug Perkins Medal finalists announced at the SCC Welcome Dinner represented the top 2% of all stores across Australian and New Zealand. They were as follows:

[su_row][su_column size=”1/2″ center=”no” class=””]
Australian finalists:

  • Ellenbrook
  • Hollywood
  • Mornington
  • Newton
  • Nowra Stockland
  • Victor Harbor

[/su_column] [su_column size=”1/2″ center=”no” class=””]
New Zealand finalists:

  • Botany
  • Lower Hutt
  • Takapuna
  • Wanganui

The winners of the inaugural Doug Perkins Medals for Australia and New Zealand, respectively, were Specsavers Victor Harbor and Specsavers Botany. The two winning stores are profiled below.
Australian winner – Specsavers Victor Harbor
New Zealand winner – Specsavers Botany