Ten Australian and five New Zealand Specsavers stores were named as finalists for the annual Doug Perkins Medal at last night’s SCC Online Series live event, featuring Dr Matthew Russell.

The Doug Perkins Medal, which was introduced in 2018,  is presented to one Australian and one NZ store each year in recognition of consistently high standards of clinical excellence and patient care.

The ten Australian finalists include:

  • Elizabeth, SA
  • Hollywood, SA
  • Success, WA
  • Rockingham, WA
  • Loganholme, QLD
  • Ipswich, QLD
  • Runaway Bay, QLD
  • Burwood, NSW
  • Nowra Stocklands, NSW
  • Dubbo NSW
  • Warrnambool, VIC

The five New Zealand finalists include:

  • Massey
  • Riccarton Westfield
  • Timaru
  • Queenstown
  • Dunedin

To determine the finalists, a nation-wide analysis was conducted using data collected through the Specsavers Professional Benchmark Initiative (PBI). The PBI aggregates and tracks patient outcomes across Specsavers Australia & New Zealand’s store network.

The information from the PBI was combined with data from Specsavers’ patient feedback platform, as well as health outcome data from the Oculo electronic referral system and is based on the following criteria:

  • Leadership in delivering exceptional patient outcomes
  • Consistent feedback demonstrating the positive patient experience
  • A focus on education and training
  • Implementation of store processes that have delivered consistent quality eye care
  • Commitment to accessible eye health
  • Collaborative engagement with medicine.

The finalists represent the top four percent of all Specsavers stores across Australia and New Zealand, delivering consistently high standards of patient care across all key aspects of clinical practice.

The winning store will be announced during an upcoming SCC Online Series live event.